Who Should Govern the Internet?

Follow up on this event's outcomes through the related Headlines linked below to or skip to the event data.

Event Details

This event has passed.

Date: Nov 29 2012 - 9:00am - 12:00pm
Location:
New America Foundation (NAF), 1899 L St NW, 4th Floor, Washington, DC, 20036, United States

Who Should Govern the Internet?

New America Foundation
Thursday, November 29, 2012
9:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.

The United Nations has its eyes on the Internet. A summit next month could lead to a telecommunications treaty granting a U.N. agency jurisdiction, and control, over the online universe. The issue is being furiously debated and lobbied in advance of the summit. Companies, technologists, free speech advocates and national governments must now consider the relative merits of the current decentralized, U.S.-centered governance of the Internet, versus a more equitable, multinational (but possibly more restrictive) system. Haven't heard much about this looming fight that could radically alter the character of the Internet? It's not too late -- join Future Tense to learn about all about it.

Participants
Sunil Abraham(via Skype) - @sunil_abraham
Executive Director, Centre for Internet and Society

Ellery Biddle - @ellerybiddle
Policy Analyst, Center for Democracy and Technology

Jim Cicconi - @ATTPublicPolicy
Senior Executive Vice President for External and Legislative Affairs, AT&T

Derrick Cogburn - @derrickcogburn
Associate Professor of International Relations, American University

Susan Crawford (invited) - @scrawford
Visiting Professor, Harvard Kennedy School of Government
Author, Captive Audience: The Telecom Industry and Monopoly Power in the Gilded Age
Member of ICANN Board of Directors (2005-2008)

Jonathan Koppell - @ASU
Dean of College of Public Programs, Arizona State University
Author, World Rule: Accountability, Legitimacy, and the Design of Global Governance

Rebecca MacKinnon - @rmack
Senior Fellow, New America Foundation
Author, Consent of the Networked

Sascha Meinrath - @saschameinrath
Vice President and Director, Open Technology Institute, New America Foundation

Milton Mueller - @miltonmueller
Professor and Director, Telecommunications Network Management Program, Syracuse University School of Information Studies

David Post - @templelaw
Professor of Law, Temple University
Author, In Search of Jefferson's Moose: Notes on the State of Cyberspace

Tim Wu - @superwuster
Future Tense Fellow, New America Foundation
Author, The Master Switch: The Rise and Fall Information Empires

To RSVP for the event:
http://newamerica.net/events/2012/who_should_govern_the_internet

For questions, contact Stephanie Gunter at New America at (202) 596-3367 or [email protected]

Browse

« December »
WeekSMTWTFS
4930123456
5078910111213
5114151617181920
5221222324252627
128293031123

Table view